The first shipment, as 
 part of the partnership 
 between Brittany Ferries 
 and CMA CGM, takes place

LATEST NEWS

19 January 2022

The first shipment, as part of the partnership between Brittany Ferries and CMA CGM, takes place

Image : CMA CGM (Photo Sébastien Taldu)

 

In September 2021, CMA CGM and Brittanny Ferries announced a €25 million partnership. This is life-saving news for Brittanny Ferries, who have been in great difficulty due to COVID, and a real business opportunity for CMA CGM, who are expanding their distribution network in the UK.

The first shipment of CMA CGM cargo to England took place on 12th January 2022, symbolizing a real cooperation between two French shipping [...]


19 January 2022

UK publishes new “climate and environmental ambitions” for the subsidy system replacing the CAP

The Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) is Europe’s largest single form of expenditure, with a budget of 336 million for the period 2021-2027.

However, leaving Europe also means no longer receiving financial aid, which marks the end of the CAP for the United Kingdom. This is causing concern among British parliamentarians and farmers, who are facing the biggest upheaval in their sector in fifty years…

On January 6, the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs [...]


18 January 2022

British Lords are not convinced by Bank of England’s efforts to digitalise the Pound

A panel of Lords from the UK government have criticised the Bank of England’s new project to launch a UK central bank digital currency, stating that they saw no convincing case for the digitalisation of the Pound.

BOE officials led by Deputy Governor Jon Cunliffe have become vocal about the need for CBDC. They state that the sharp decrease in the use of cash is leaving money increasingly controlled by private companies that don’t have the explicit government guarantee carried [...]


OUR LATEST PUBLICATIONS

FOUNDERS’ TESTIMONIALS

JIMMY ZOU

JIMMY ZOU, Associate,

PWC FRANCE and AFRIQUE FRANCOPHONE

Whilst there is a large amount of uncertainty regarding the future of economic relations between France and the United Kingdom at the moment, we are not only happy, but also proud to work alongside the Franco-British Chamber on building an impressive vision of what this “special relationship” between companies of our two nations should be. That be the case with or without, before or after, Brexit.

THIERRY DRILHON

Thierry Drilhon

President of the FRANCO-BRITISH CHAMBER

Both Brexit and COVID-19 have raised unprecedented issues for the entire business community. . Let’s make sure that this particular period leads to a strengthening of the development of economic activities on both sides of the Channel. In this respect, the creation of the Cross-Channel Institute, in partnership with PwC and the British Embassy, is a great opportunity to reinvent our economic & trade relations with the United Kingdom for the coming decades.

PAUL TAYLOR

Paul Taylor, Deputy Director

Britsh Embassy In France

We at British Embassy are very pleased with this Franco-British Think Tank initiative to which we are delighted to contribute and thus help strengthen the deep and historic relationship between our two countries.

PAUL TAYLOR

Françoise Rausch

Chairwoman of the Cross-Channel Institute

The Cross-Channel Institute works to promote Franco-British economic relations and to ensure that they are well understood. We believe that information is key: whether it comes from the figures, analysed in our barometers and studies, or from the testimonies of our experts and speakers, shared in the various events we organise

MESSAGE FROM HMA Ms MENNA RAWLINGS, CMG

British Ambassador to France

“The Franco-British friendship continues to grow stronger. Our two countries are entering a new chapter in our bilateral relationship and trade between the UK and France has steadily increased over the last two years. The work of the Cross-Channel Institute is a shining example of the continuing commitment of governments and businesses on both sides of the Channel to our strong and historic relationship. Together we are helping businesses new to the UK and French markets and now, through our cooperation in the Cross-Channel Institute, we will produce expert analysis and innovative solutions to further propel our bilateral trade relationship.”

La première expédition 
 a lieu dans le cadre du 
 partenariat entre 
 Brittany Ferries et CMA 
 CGM

NOS DERNIÈRES NEWS

le 19 janvier 2022

La première expédition a lieu dans le cadre du partenariat entre Brittany Ferries et CMA CGM

Image : CMA CGM (Photo Sébastien Taldu)

 

En septembre 2021, CMA CGM et Brittanny Ferries annonçaient un partenariat d’un montant de 25 millions d’euros. Une nouvelle salvatrice pour la Britanny Ferries, en grande difficulté en raison du COVID, et une vraie opportunité commerciale pour la CMA CGM qui étend son réseau de distribution au Royaume-Uni.

Le premier chargement de fret CMA CGM vers l’Angleterre est intervenu le 12 janvier 2022, [...]


le 19 janvier 2022

Le Royaume-Uni publie de nouvelles “ambitions climatiques et environnementales” pour le système de subventions remplaçant la PAC

La politique agricole commune (PAC) est le plus gros poste de dépenses européen, avec un budget de 336 millions pour la période 2021-2027.

Cependant, quitter l’Europe signifie également ne plus recevoir d’aides financières, ce qui marque la fin de la PAC pour le Royaume-Uni. Cela suscite l’inquiétude des parlementaires et des agriculteurs britanniques, confrontés au plus grand bouleversement de leur secteur depuis cinquante ans…

Le 6 janvier, le [...]


le 18 janvier 2022

Lords britanniques ne sont pas convaincus par les efforts de la Banque d’Angleterre pour numériser la livre sterling

Un panel de Lords du gouvernement britannique a critiqué le nouveau projet de la Banque d’Angleterre visant à lancer une monnaie numérique de la banque centrale du Royaume-Uni, déclarant qu’ils ne voyaient aucun argument convaincant en faveur de la numérisation de la livre.

Les responsables de la BOE, dirigés par le gouverneur adjoint Jon Cunliffe, se sont fait entendre sur la nécessité de la CBDC. Ils ont déclaré qu’en raison de la forte baisse de [...]


NOS DERNIÈRES PUBLICATIONS

TÉMOIGNAGES DES FONDATEURS

JIMMY ZOU

Jimmy Zou, Associé,

PwC France et Afrique Francophone

En ce moment où l’incertitude est grande sur l’avenir des relations économiques du Royaume-Uni avec l’Europe, nous sommes heureux, mais aussi fiers de participer aux côtés de la Franco-British Chamber à la construction d’une vision ambitieuse de ce que doit être cette « relation spéciale » entre les entreprises de nos deux nations avec ou sans, avant ou après, le Brexit.

THIERRY DRILHON

Thierry Drilhon

Président de la Franco British Chamber

Le Brexit et le COVID-19 soulèvent des enjeux inédits pour l’ensemble du monde des affaires. Faisons en sorte que cette période particulière aboutisse à un renforcement du développement des activités économiques des deux côtés de la Manche. A ce titre, la création du Cross-Channel Institute, en partenariat avec PwC et le DIT*, est une formidable opportunité pour réinventer nos relations économiques avec le Royaume Uni pour les prochaines décennies.

PAUL TAYLOR

Paul Taylor, Chief operating officer

Ambassade du Royaume-Uni en France

A l’Ambassade du Royaume-Uni en France, nous sommes très heureux de cette initiative de Think Tank Franco-British à laquelle nous sommes ravis de contribuer et renforcer ainsi les relations profondes et historiques entre nos deux pays.

PAUL TAYLOR

Françoise Rausch

Présidente du COMITE DU Cross-Channel Institute

Au Cross-Channel Institute, nous œuvrons à la promotion des relations économiques franco-britanniques mais aussi à leur bonne connaissance. Nous pensons que l’information est clé : qu’elle vienne des chiffres, analysés dans nos baromètres et études, ou des témoignages de nos experts et speakers, présentés dans les nombreux évènements que nous organisons

MESSAGE DE HMA MS MENNA RAWLINGS, CMG

Ambassadrice de Grande-Bretagne en France

L’amitié franco-britannique continue de se renforcer. Nos deux pays entament un nouveau chapitre de leur relation bilatérale et les échanges commerciaux entre le Royaume-Uni et la France n’ont cessé d’augmenter au cours des deux dernières années. Le travail de Cross-Channel Insitute est un exemple brillant de l’engagement continu des gouvernements et des entreprises des deux côtés de la Manche envers notre relation forte et historique. Ensemble, nous aidons les entreprises nouvellement arrivées sur les marchés britannique et français et maintenant, grâce à notre coopération au sein du Cross-Channel Institute, nous produirons des analyses d’experts et des solutions innovantes afin de propulser davantage nos relations commerciales bilatérales.